Monday, October 21, 2019

My Thoughts: Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/43822778-twice-in-a-blue-moon
Twice in a Blue Moon
by Christina Lauren
Website | Twitter | Instagram

Publication Date: October 22nd, 2019
Publisher: Gallery Books
Pages: 368
ISBN: 9781501197420
Genre: Adult Fiction | Contemporary | Romance
Source: Edelweiss Review Copy | Own

Add to Goodreads

Available for Purchase:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

Sam Brandis was Tate Jones’s first: Her first love. Her first everything. Including her first heartbreak.

During a whirlwind two-week vacation abroad, Sam and Tate fell for each other in only the way that first loves do: sharing all of their hopes, dreams, and deepest secrets along the way. Sam was the first, and only, person that Tate—the long-lost daughter of one of the world’s biggest film stars—ever revealed her identity to. So when it became clear her trust was misplaced, her world shattered for good.

Fourteen years later, Tate, now an up-and-coming actress, only thinks about her first love every once in a blue moon. When she steps onto the set of her first big break, he’s the last person she expects to see. Yet here Sam is, the same charming, confident man she knew, but even more alluring than she remembered. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, Tate must ask herself if it’s possible to do the wrong thing for the right reason… and whether “once in a lifetime” can come around twice.

With Christina Lauren’s signature “beautifully written and remarkably compelling” (Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author) prose and perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, Twice in a Blue Moon is an unforgettable and moving novel of young love and second chances.

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners and the “delectable, moving” (Entertainment Weekly) My Favorite Half-Night Stand comes a modern love story about what happens when your first love reenters your life when you least expect it… (Goodreads)


I am always super excited to get my hands on a new Christina Lauren novel, and when I discovered Twice in a Blue Moon, I knew I would have to check it out. I am SO glad that I did!

Twice in a Blue Moon is a story about first loves and second chances. Sam and Tate meet and fall in love in London, but it ends in heartbreak after a close guarded secret is revealed. Fourteen years later and their paths cross again, can love be found Twice in a Blue Moon?

I really liked the storyline for this book, not only the parts that take place in London at the beginning of the book, but also the parts where Tate is making the movie in the later parts of the book. The setting for both places sound wonderful. (I keep reading books that are set in London, and it’s totally making me want to visit.) I’ve read a few books where there is a movie being made in the storyline, and I always find that interesting. I also love the second chance theme to the storyline. I have not read nearly enough of those lately, and reading this makes me want to read more.

The book is full or interesting characters as well. Tate is our main character in the story, and we get to see the past and present from her point of view. I liked Tate, and I thought her story was refreshing. I love seeing a character make a great thing about of a bad thing. Sam, the love interest in the story, actually took a while to grow on me. I probably should have liked him more in the beginning of the book, but he really didn’t win me over until about halfway through the second half of the book. There are a lot of fun secondary characters in the story as well, and I liked almost all of them! (Except Tate’s dad. What an ass.)

One thing that was missing from this book that I kind of expected, was the humor. I am so used to characters like Olive (The Unhoneymooner’s) and Hazel (Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating), and others, that I kind of expected it in this book. I was expecting this to be a romantic comedy like most of the previous books I have read by these authors, but it was more of a contemporary romance. Not that that made me like the book any less, I just kept waiting for it, and it never happened. 

Overall; Though I had a few issues with the book, I really enjoyed Twice in a Blue Moon! I am so glad that I read it, and I will most definitely be keeping my eye out for Christina Lauren’s next book, The Honey-Don't List, which is currently set to release next March! (It sounds great as well, so if you’re a fan, check it out!)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...