Monday, August 12, 2013

Review: The Deepest Night by Shana Abe

The Deepest Night
(The Sweetest Dark #2)
by Shana Abe 
Website | Twitter | Facebook

Publication Date: August 13th 2013
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Pages: 320
ISBN: 9780345531735
Genre: Young Adult
Source: Netgalley

Barnes & Noble | Amazon | Goodreads

A rich portrait of post-Victorian England, The Deepest Night seamlessly blends thrilling romance with riveting history and adventure—perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Lauren Kate.

It’s 1915, and sixteen-year-old Lora Jones is finishing up her first year as a charity student at Iverson, a prestigious, gothic boarding school on England’s southern coast. While she’s always felt different from everyone around her, now she finally knows why: She is a drákon, a rare, enchanted being with astonishing magical abilities.

As war hits Britain’s shores, and Lora reels from an unimaginable loss, she finds that her powers come with grave and dangerous responsibilities. At the request of Armand Louis, the darkly mysterious boy whose father owns Iverson, Lora will spend her summer at his lavish estate. To help the war effort—and to keep Lora by his side—Armand turns his home into a military hospital, where Lora will serve as a nurse. For Armand is inescapably drawn to her—bound to her by heart-deep secrets and a supernatural connection that runs thicker than blood.

Yet while Lora tries to sort out her own feelings toward Armand, fate offers an unexpected surprise. Lora discovers there is another drákon, a prisoner of war being held in Germany. And that only she, with her newly honed Gifts, will be able to rescue him.

With Armand, Lora will cross enemy lines on an incredible mission—one that could bond her to Armand forever, or irrevocably tear them apart.

Beautifully written, deeply romantic, and filled with daring adventure and magic, The Deepest Night is a mesmerizing novel of the enduring pull of destiny, and the eternal strength of love. (Goodreads)
The Deepest Night is the wonderful follow up to Shana Abe’s The Sweetest Dark, which I read last summer.  Being that I haven’t read many books about dragons so far, I really enjoyed the story that Abe wove together for us to read. It has made for a really great series.

The Deepest Night picks up right after the previous book leaves off.  It is now Summer Break for the girls at Iverson, and Lora is spending her summer helping at Armand’s home, which has been turned into a military hospital. After discovering that there may be another of their kind, who is being held as a prisoner of war, Armand and Lora set out to rescue him.

This was such a great story. I love Lora. While she is different, and trust me she knows that she is different, she tries not to let other people get her down. She is such a very headstrong young lady. I have really enjoyed reading her stories. The one thing that I really missed in this story was Jesse. If you have read the previous book, you will know what happened to him. His presence was greatly missed. That being said, I really did enjoy seeing more of Armand. I thought that he was a great match for Lora; especially he is just like her.

I love the setting and descriptions in the story, the time during WWI in London. (I’ve been watching Downton Abbey a lot, so that could be why!) The ending of the book closed up really nicely, even though I hate to see it end. This is a series that I would enjoy reading more of. The characters were great, the storyline was intriguing… I could go on and on.  There was one little part in the book that didn’t get tied up nicely, the girl in the village that Armand sees, the girl with the red hair. I’m curious about this. Is this a character that we will see again someday? Or am I just getting my hopes up??

Overall, this series is a really great read! If you haven’t already done so, you should definitely check it out. Especially if you like Dragons!

Happy Reading!


Books in this series:



The Sweetest Dark | The Deepest Night

4 comments:

  1. I haven't read the first in this series but it's on my pile! Love the setting -- you don't see many YAs set in the WWII era.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've seen this book around but didn't know it's about dragons! It sounds really interesting! Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I really love the covers in this series. If the synopsis didn't push me enough to read it, those covers sure would. I like the idea of WWI in London, and I LOVE the idea of dragons!! :) Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I am worried about the lack of Jesse in this book because I liked him so much previously but I'm hoping the dragon mythology will help make up for that.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...