Thursday, October 3, 2013

Review: Breathe by Sarah Crossan

Breathe
(Breathe, #1)
by Sarah Crossan
Author Website | Twitter | Facebook

Publication Date: October 2nd 2012
Publisher: Greenwillow | HarperCollins
Pages: 384
ISBN: 9780062118691
Genre: Young Adult | Dystopian
Source: Library

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can't? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan's gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth.

Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina's a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn's a Premium who's never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who's never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything. Sarah Crossan's thrilling and provocative novel is about passion, about yearning for something better, and about breaking free for the very first time. (Goodreads)
Breathe is a Young Adult Dystopian novel about a world with no air.  In order to survive, you must live in a Pod, where air is manufactured and delivered to you, but at a cost. To not obey the rules in the Pod means that you either disappear, or are cast into The Outlands to die. But is the Pod keeping people safe, or keeping them trapped with a false sense of security?

The story was told from the viewpoints of the three main characters, Alina, Bea and Quinn. It was interesting to read the story this way, as each characters point of view was so very different. They each came from completely different backgrounds, and because of this, we really got a lot more information about the world the author created. All three of the main characters were special to me, and each in their own way. Bea and Alina have not had the most perfect lives, while Quinn has always had everything at his disposal, as money was never a problem for him. But together they formed a bond to not only survive, but to do what they have to do to try to save the world. These three characters were seriously great. There were so many secondary characters that I love as well, too many to even name. Just read the book and you will see who I’m talking about.

The storyline for this book is fascinating, as well as realistic. This is something I could totally see happening if the Earth is not taken care of. This book makes me want to go plant a bunch of trees. Seriously!  I always try to be as eco-friendly as I possibly can, and this book is just a reminder as to why I try to do that. I want to have a world that I can breathe in!

Overall; I can’t believe I didn’t pick this book up sooner. I enjoyed it SO much more than I expected to! And now that I’m reading the second book, Resist, I’m enjoying it just as much.  If you like dystopian type novels, you will definitely want to check this out.

Happy Reading!


4 comments:

  1. This was definitely an intriguing story, wasn't it? I liked all of the characters a good deal. Now, let's go plant some trees, shall we?

    ReplyDelete
  2. This one sounds very interesting. That synopsis is intruiging!

    Great review :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. This has been on my TBR list for so long! Now I really want to read it!

    ReplyDelete
  4. This has been on my TBR list for so long! Now I really want to read it!

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...