Wednesday, January 22, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday #132 - Maybe One Day & Love Letters to the Dead

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18053047-maybe-one-day
Maybe One Day
by Melissa Kantor
Website | Twitter | Facebook

Publication Date: February 18th 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
ISBN: 9780062279200

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18053047-maybe-one-day

Available for Pre-Order: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Critically acclaimed author Melissa Kantor masterfully captures the joy of friendship, the agony of loss, and the unique experience of being a teenager in this poignant new novel about a girl grappling with her best friend's life-threatening illness.

Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.

Even when she isn't sure what to say.

Even when Olivia misses months of school.

Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia's crush.

The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe's unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned. (Goodreads)


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18140047-love-letters-to-the-dead?from_search=true
Love Letters to the Dead
by Ava Dellaira
Website | Twitter | Facebook

Publication Date: April 1st 2014
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ISBN: 9780374346676

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18140047-love-letters-to-the-dead?from_search=true

Available for Pre-Order: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

It begins as an assignment for English class: Write a letter to a dead person. Laurel chooses Kurt Cobain because her sister, May, loved him. And he died young, just like May did. Soon, Laurel has a notebook full of letters to people like Janis Joplin, Amy Winehouse, Amelia Earhart, Heath Ledger, and more; though she never gives a single one of them to her teacher. She writes about starting high school, navigating new friendships, falling in love for the first time, learning to live with her splintering family. And, finally, about the abuse she suffered while May was supposed to be looking out for her. Only then, once Laurel has written down the truth about what happened to herself, can she truly begin to accept what happened to May. And only when Laurel has begun to see her sister as the person she was; lovely and amazing and deeply flawed; can she begin to discover her own path. (Goodreads)


Do both of these books sound amazing, or what?
They also both have really awesome covers.
Luckily I managed to snag an e-ARC for both of these.
I can't wait to get started on them!

What are you Waiting for this week???

**"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine,
that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.**

10 comments:

  1. I think both of these sound really good, especially the first one. Great picks!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Seeing a lot of the second one lately! The first is new to me! Hope you enjoy them both!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. While they don't sound like my usual genres, they definitely have appeal! Plus, love the covers.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Both of these sound fantastic, especially the first book…its sounds really emotional/intense and I love the cover. I'll keep my eye out for your reviews! Great picks!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Still undecided in Maybe One Day. Maybe one day I will. ;D

    Here's my Wednesday post.

    ReplyDelete
  6. They're both lovely and have great descriptions. Hope you like the stories :)

    Happy Wednesday!

    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  7. I recently read Maybe One Day and it's so spectacular. Be prepared for such awesomeness but luckily it's not a long wait.

    Aly @ My Heart Hearts Books
    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  8. Awesome pick
    Totally just added this to my tbr
    Thanks for sharing <3
    Here's our WoW
    Doris @ OABR

    ReplyDelete
  9. I haven't read any Melissa Kantor, but I hear a lot of people like them.
    Check out my WOW

    ReplyDelete
  10. I really want to read maybe one day.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...