Monday, February 17, 2014

Review: Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18053047-maybe-one-day
Maybe One Day
by Melissa Kantor
Website | Twitter | Facebook

Publication Date: February 18th 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 400
ISBN: 9780062279200
Genre: Young Adult | Contemporary
Source: Edelweiss

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

Critically acclaimed author Melissa Kantor masterfully captures the joy of friendship, the agony of loss, and the unique experience of being a teenager in this poignant new novel about a girl grappling with her best friend's life-threatening illness.

Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.

Even when she isn't sure what to say.

Even when Olivia misses months of school.

Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia's crush.

The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe's unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned. (Goodreads)
I was a little torn when I first decided to read Maybe One Day. The story sounded interesting, but I knew the book was going to be sad, and I make it a point not to read sad books very often. I put the book off a few times, afraid to start it, but I’m so glad that I finally decided to read it. This book was an excellent story of friendship and loss, and how quickly life can change in an instant.

Zoe and Olivia had always been friends. The friendship that these girls have is not one that happens for just anyone, and you can tell throughout the book that there it is more than just an average friendship. These girls are more like sisters, and they care for each other so very much. Through the book we get to see the girls tackle all the challenges that come with cancer, and I admire Zoe for standing by her best friend through it all. I really felt like I was going through everything right along with them. The characters are definitely not perfect, but they were perfect for each other, and they were there for each other, and I guess that’s all that really matters in friendships.

I read this book a lot faster than I expected to. I figured that with the sad storyline, that it would be something I would have to muddle through. But that wasn’t the case at all. Even though most of the story was everyday life of living with cancer, the story was still interesting, and I flew through the pages. While not everything in the book was realistic, it didn’t really take away from the story for me. There were some parts in the book that made me super ugly cry; I just couldn’t help it. I couldn’t imagine what these girls and their families were going through, and I hope I never have to.

Overall; I really enjoyed reading this book, so much more than I expected to. You’ll definitely need some tissues available when you read it, because you definitely will feel the need to cry at some points. I’m definitely looking forward to reading more by this author!

2 comments:

  1. Aw, I don't like to cry!! But I've had some students asking for more books like TFiOS so this sounds like one I can recommend to them.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I agree with you that the book had its flaws, but it was a really great story of friendship. And about the tissues. I definitely shed some tears! Great review!

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...