Thursday, April 17, 2014

Review: Sleep No More by Aprilynne Pike

www.goodreads.com/book/show/18635004-sleep-no-more
Sleep No More
by Aprilynne Pike
Website | Twitter | Facebook

Publication Date: April 29th 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 352
ISBN: 9780061999031
Genre: Young Adult | Paranormal
Source: Edelweiss

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

The blockbuster film Inception meets Lisa McMann's Wake trilogy in this dark paranormal thriller from #1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike. This novel is also perfect for fans of Kelley Armstrong, Alyson Noel, and Kimberly Derting.

Charlotte Westing has a gift. She is an Oracle and has the ability to tell the future. But it doesn't do her much good. Instead of using their miraculous power, modern-day Oracles are told to fight their visions—to refrain from interfering. And Charlotte knows the price of breaking the rules. She sees it every day in her wheelchair-bound mother and the absence of her father. But when a premonition of a classmate's death is too strong for her to ignore, Charlotte is forced to make an impossible decision: continue following the rules or risk everything—even her sanity—to stop the serial killer who is stalking her town. (Goodreads)
Sleep No More is the first book I’ve read by Aprilynne Pike, but it definitely won’t be the last!

Charlotte Westing is an Oracle, one that has the ability not only tell the future, but to change it as well. But in the current day and age, oracles aren’t allowed to use their powers, not even for good. They must hold them in, and not let themselves be known for what they really all. All of this is for their protection, of course. But when her classmates start dying in very brutal ways, it’s up to Charlotte to use her powers to track down the killer, before she loses even more of her friends.

Charlotte was a very interesting main character. On one hand I admired her for her determination to keep people safe and to find out who was killing the teens, but on the other hand I wanted to shake her for making some of the insanely dangerous decisions that she made. I definitely found her remoteness to be relatable, even if hers wasn’t exactly by choice. I actually think that more people cared about Charlotte than she actually believed did so, and we really see that throughout the story.

The storyline for this book was very creative! I can’t say that I’ve read a book where an Oracle is the main character before. It was interesting and very unique.  The actual deaths in the story were brutal and very descriptive. Kudo’s to Pike for having the stomach to write those scenes! I figured out who the killer was pretty early in the story, but his motive was for killing came as a surprise to me. Even though I figured it out, there was still so much mystery that I caught myself second guessing a lot, and suspecting everyone. There was a pretty big twist at the end of the novel that had me a bit surprised, but I thought it worked out perfectly for this novel.

Overall, this book was a very intense read! If you want to read something different than the norm, you should definitely check out Sleep No More. I’m really looking forward to reading more of Aprilynne Pike’s novels in the future.



2 comments:

  1. Sounds interesting. Great Review ;)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Difficult when the MC makes dangerous decisions that could get her killed but you've got to admire the gumption!

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...