Friday, June 20, 2014

Review: The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13576132-the-murder-complex
The Murder Complex
(The Murder Complex #1)
by Lindsay Cummings
Website | Twitter | Facebook

Publication Date: June 10th 2014
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Pages: 398
ISBN: 9780062220004
Genre: Young Adult | Dystopian
Source: Edelweiss

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings. (Goodreads)
Imagine a world where all natural causes have been cured, and the only way to die is from Unnatural causes. A world where the death rate is higher than the birth rate, where you life on rations and don’t dare go out after dark, and where you have to fight for your life more often than not just to survive. That is the world that we are introduced to in The Murder Complex.

The main character in the story, Meadow, is not only a kick-butt character, but she’s a trained weapon as well. She can hold her own and defend herself in just about any situation that she needs to. Yes, this is a young girl that can take care of herself, no matter what. And that was her plan all along. Get a job to help support her family, to do whatever she has to do to survive and keep her little sister safe. That is until she meets Zephyr, and everything in her world starts to change.  Zephyr, who is also a trained specimen in his own right, was a very interesting young man. While he was also a weapon and could hold his own, there is another side of him that is caring and even somewhat vulnerable. While these two characters worked really well together, the relationship between them was a bit fast paced for me. Then again, that could just be a result from the world in which they live.

I love the relationships between Meadow and the people in her family, especially since the relationship between each person is completely different. Her father loves her, but shows his love through his training. Meadow has a hard time seeing it, but it’s there. Koi is the typical ‘big brother’ type, always wanting to keep his sisters safe from harm. But the relationship that I loved the most was between Meadow and her sister Peri. When they are together, we get to see a completely different side of Meadow, one that is softer and caring. I loved their sisterly bond.

The dystopian world that Cummings created was very interesting. I can’t even imagine living in the world that these characters live in. It was brutal and violent, and death is imminent. This allowed for a lot of action throughout the novel. The book was very fast paced, and there was a lot of blood and gory parts throughout; I found a few moments quite cringe-worthy. But that really only made the story that much more intense for me.

Overall: The Murder Complex was an intense beginning to what promises to be a wonderfully suspenseful series. I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book, which is not coming out soon enough!


1 comment:

  1. Nice review, I really want to read it and the cover is so beautiful >.<

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...