Thursday, March 26, 2015

Review: Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18009950-liars-inc
Liars, Inc.
by Paula Stokes
Website | Twitter | Facebook

Publication Date: March 24th 2015
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 368
ISBN: 9780062323286
Genre: Young Adult | Mystery | Thriller
Source: Edelweiss

Add to Goodreads

Available for Purchase:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

For fans of Gone Girl, I Hunt Killers, and TV's How to Get Away with Murder.

Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell forged permission slips and cover stories to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money and liven up a boring senior year. With the help of his friends Preston and Parvati, Max starts Liars, Inc. Suddenly everybody needs something and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?

When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn’t think twice about hooking him up. Until Preston never comes home. Then the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead the cops to Preston’s body. Terrifying clues that point to Max as the murderer.

Can Max find the real killer before he goes to prison for a crime he didn’t commit? In a story that Kirkus Reviews called "Captivating to the very end," Paula Stokes starts with one single white lie and weaves a twisted tale that will have readers guessing until the explosive final chapters.
(Goodreads)
Liars, Inc. is the second book that I’ve read by Paula Stokes, the first being The Art of Lainey, which I really enjoyed. I was looking forward to seeing what kind of mystery Paula would come up with in this story, and I definitely wasn’t disappointed.

Max was an interesting main character. He’s far from perfect, and has done some things in the past and present that he’s not exactly proud of. Not only that, he’s super easily influenced by his best friends Preston and Parvati. When he and his friends start up Liars, Inc. as a way to bring in extra cash, the lying part comes easily to him. When his best friend comes up missing, with clues pointing to Max as the main suspect, he still can’t stop the lies. But there was something about Max, something that makes you like him despite all the lying and imperfections. He was definitely one of the more interesting characters I’ve read about before. I really enjoyed that the book was told from a male characters point of view. I feel like I do get to read this very often, and it’s always so interesting to see such a different perspective.

I loved the murder mystery storyline for the book. It was definitely intriguing! I figured out one of the biggest mysteries pretty early on the story, which makes me proud of my super awesome instincts. (Ha!) However, the twists and turns kept coming as I flew through the pages, and I was surprised when at the end I was only partially right about the mystery.

Overall; Paula Stokes definitely has another hit on her hands with Liars, Inc.! The book definitely kept me entertained, and the mystery was full of twists and turns that will keep you guessing about what has happened, and what will happen. Add this book to your to-read list today!


1 comment:

  1. I am hearing good things about this one. I enjoyed this author's historical series, as well!

    Kate @ Ex Libris


    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...