Tuesday, May 5, 2015

Review: A Court of Thorns & Roses by Sarah J. Maas

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16096824-a-court-of-thorns-and-roses
A Court of Thorns and Roses
(A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)
by Sarah J. Maas
Website | Twitter | Facebook

Publication Date: May 5th 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's
Pages: 416
ISBN: 9781619634442
Genre: Young Adult | Fantasy | Retelling
Source: Publisher

Add to Goodreads

Available for Purchase:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!
(Goodreads)
A Court of Thorns and Roses was my first experience with the brilliant author Sarah J. Maas. I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started the book, but once I finished it, I could definitely see what all the fuss was about. The storyline was highly addictive and the characters were made to fall in love with. This book is a wonderful beginning to what should prove to be a really awesome series. I can’t wait to get my hands on the next books in the series!

The main characters in the story are Feyre and Tamlin, who meet one frosty evening after Feyre kills a wolf in the woods. Tamlin is seeking revenge for the wolf’s death, who happened to be his friend, and he will only spare Feyre’s family if she agrees to spend the rest of her life with him in the dangerous world of the fae.

Feyre is a bit of a bad ass, but also has a good heart as well. I love how much she loved her family, even when some of her family members were a bit unlovable at times. She still cared for them so deeply, and was obviously willing to do whatever she had to do to keep them safe. Tamlin is a mystery. He has many different sides, and all of them you will see throughout the story. You absolutely can’t help but fall in love with him, even when you wonder what in the world he is up to. I absolutely loved watching the relationship grow between Feyre and Tamlin; it was one that grew out of hatred and bloomed into something lovely and special. Also, the sexy times in the novel were super intense. (This made the book feel somewhat more like a New Adult novel instead of a Young Adult novel.)

The secondary characters in the novel are wonderful as well. Lucien, who I worried about in the beginning of the series, proves to be a great friend to both Tamlin and Feyre. Rhysand, who is introduced near the middle of the book, is quite the charming and mysterious character. I can’t wait to for the next books in the series, as we will hopefully get more information about him. I have to admit, I’m pretty intrigued by him. There are even more characters that I could go on and on about, but instead of doing so, I suggest you read the novel so that you can ‘meet’ them yourself! There are some you are really going to love, and a few that you are really going to hate.

The storyline for the book was really unique and highly addictive. I had a really hard time putting the book down when all I wanted to do was keep breezing through the pages. While there is some fairytale influence in the story, Maas’ mixed it in with the faerie theme in a way that makes it her own story. I love how unique the story felt, but also the hints of the fairytale as well.

Overall; A Court of Thorns and Roses such a great read; so much more than I expected. I have my finished copy pre-ordered, and I can’t wait for it to arrive on my doorstep so I can read it over and over again. Whether you’ve never read a Sarah J. Maas book or if you’re already a fan, you’re definitely going to want to check out this book. It’s a great start to what should prove to be a fantastic series.
https://instagram.com/p/xxNp5mjMfN/
https://instagram.com/p/yCw_ChDMQ3/

2 comments:

  1. Awesome review, Christy! I am so glad you liked this one. I am dying to read it. I read her Throne of Glass and was completely blown away. I thought it was fantastic and I can't wait to finish that series and start this one. You have me excited to get my hands on a copy of Thorns and Roses!

    ReplyDelete
  2. YAY! I'm VERY happy to see that your first experience with SJM was such a success! I adored this one as well, though not QUITE as much as her Throne of Glass series, which has become an all-time favorite of mine! I loved all the characters of course, Feyre, Tamlin, Lucien and Rhysand, and their relationships with one another were wonderful. The world-building was amazing and the tone was perfection. Like you, I've already pre-ordered my finished copy and am eagerly awaiting the sequel :D Wonderful review^^

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...