Monday, August 24, 2015

Review: What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15832932-what-i-thought-was-true
What I Thought Was True
by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Website | Twitter | Facebook

Publication Date: April 15th 2014
Publisher: Dial Books for Young Readers
Pages: 422
ISBN: 9780803739093
Genre: Young Adult | Contemporary
Source: Own

Add to Goodreads

Available for Purchase:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

From the acclaimed author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

Gwen Castle has never so badly wanted to say good-bye to her island home till now: the summer her Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, takes a job there as the local yard boy. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-you-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti. (Goodreads)
At the beginning of the summer, I set a goal to finally read ALL of Huntley Fitzpatrick’s books. What better time to read summer themed books than in the summer, right?! Having just recently finished reading My Life Next Door and The Boy Most Likely To, I absolutely couldn’t wait to get started on What I Thought Was True. I found it to be a very enjoyable summer read.

What I Thought Was True is the story about Gwen and Cass; two teens who live on the same island, but who are also from completely different worlds. Gwen comes from a family full of fishermen and house-cleaners. Cass is from a rich family that lives across the bridge, who never wants for anything. The two had known each other for forever, but have drifted apart after a night gone wrong.  Both Gwen and Cass were pretty headstrong and both more than a bit stubborn, and they spend most of the book walking circles around each other, but then, they have some moments where everything clicks, and it is perfection. Also, Cass is kind of swoon-worthy. Wink.

There were also a lot of interesting secondary characters in the book as well; especially a few that you will really come to love over the course of the story. I especially love Mrs. Ellington, Gwen’s brother, Emory, and her grandfather as well. Something that I’ve noticed in all of Fitzpatrick’s books so far is that she writes really great families, and Gwen’s family is no exception. I loved how really involved the whole family was, even though it wasn’t a perfect family. They were really great.

I really enjoyed that the book has the same setting as the other books by Fitzpatrick. I love the setting, at the beach, in the summertime. This atmosphere makes for a really good summer read. The storyline, while fun and swoon-worthy in some places, also has a lot of sensitive issues in it as well, and because of that the book had a bit of a different feel than My Life Next Door had. That’s not saying that I didn’t like it, just not quite as upbeat as the previous book.

Overall; I enjoyed reading What I Thought Was True.  Of course, My Life Next Door will always be my favorite Fitzpatrick read, but I What I Thought Was True was very enjoyable as well. I am beyond thrilled that I was able to fit these books into my summer reading schedule.  I really can’t wait to see what Mrs. Fitzpatrick has in store for us next, as she is quickly earning a spot on my favorite authors list!

https://instagram.com/p/6iJw_UDMSK/?taken-by=thereaderbee

1 comment:

  1. Well, this proves that I really need to reread this book. I went the audio route, and I just didn't love it like I thought I would. I think it was just that the narrator and I didn't get along. I'm thinking a reread is definitely warranted. Great review! :)

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...