Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Review: Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey

Cold Kiss
by Amy Garvey
Publication Date: September 20th, 2011
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 336
ISBN: 9780061996221

Where to Buy:
B&N | Amazon | The Book Depository
When her boyfriend, Danny, is killed in a car accident, Wren can’t imagine living without him. Wild with grief, she uses the untamed powers she’s inherited to bring him back. But the Danny who returns is just a shell of the boy she once loved.

Wren has spent four months keeping Danny hidden, while her life slowly unravels around her. Then Gabriel DeMarnes transfers to her school and somehow, inexplicably, he can sense her secret. Wren finds herself drawn to Gabriel, who is so much more alive than the ghost of the boy she loved. But Wren can’t turn her back on Danny or the choice she made for him—and she realizes she must find a way to make things right, even if it means breaking her own heart.

Amy Garvey’s transcendent teen debut is perfect for fans of Shiver and Beautiful Creatures. Wren’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned. (Goodreads)
Cold Kiss was not at all what I expected. This is an emotionally intense book about love, loss and finally, letting go.

The main character in the story is Wren. I thought Wren was a very interesting character. The author did a really good job of describing Wren’s emotions to us. Losing one you love, especially your first love, is extremely difficult. Wren also has these ‘powers’ that she inherited from the women in her family. After a few days of mourning, Wren decides to use these powers to bring her boyfriend, Danny, back to life. While I enjoyed reading the back-story about their relationship before his car accident, the interactions Wren had with Danny after she brought him back were just downright creepy. I kept waiting for him to do something sinister, but he really never did.

Gabriel is the new boy at school, and he seems to have an instant attraction to Wren. I found Gabriel’s character to be very interesting as well. I thought for sure we would see a love triangle going on between Wren, Gabriel and Danny, but I never really got the impression of one. Wren was definitely pulled to both boys, but it was more in a way as she was letting go of Danny, and growing toward Gabriel.

I found the book to be well paced. It held my attention pretty well, despite the fact that there was not a lot of action going on in the book. The plot was very creative; I do believe this is the first book I’ve read having to do with a girlfriend bringing her boyfriend back to life, and dealing with the consequences of it.

Overall, I found Cold Kiss to be a really interesting read. I did have a few questions at the end of the book about things that were left unresolved, so I’m wondering if this will maybe be a series. I would definitely like to know what will happen to Wren next, especially with her powers.

Happy Reading!

9 comments:

  1. This was one that I couldn't get into, for some reason. Maybe I wasn't in the right frame of mind for it at the time but I DNF-ed it. I might have to try it again! Thanks for the review.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I was wondering about whether this is a series or not, too. While it did have a satisfying ending, a few questions were left unanswered, which I didn't really like.
    Sadly I never really got into the story. Yes, it was very easy and fast to read, but I never really felt a connection to the characters. :(
    But I'm glad you enjoyed it! :) Great review.

    Carina

    ReplyDelete
  3. In the last few days I've seen quite a few bloggers review this one. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed it. Another one to add to my wishlist. I love Harperteen books!

    ReplyDelete
  4. This one sounds really good even though I've been seeing some mixed reviews for it. Glad to see you enjoyed though. I'll definitely be picking this one up soon :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. I enjoyed Cold Kiss too. It was a short, enjoyable read. I really liked the character of Gabriel and can't wait to get to know him more in future books!

    ReplyDelete
  6. i have this title next on my tbr pile. the premise is interesting--i'm so happy to know it's a good read. :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. I've seen this around and, each time I do, I get caught in how COOL that cover looks (no pun intended!)! It sounds so good -- I love the whole idea of a girl bringing her boyfriend back to life and having to deal with letting him go. :)

    Awesome review, Christy! I'm really glad you enjoyed it!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I am glad you enjoyed this one too. My biggest question that wasn't answered was about her dad! Where is he, what is going on with him? I am not sure if it is part of a series or not, but I wouldn't mind finding out more.

    Awesome review, as always.

    ReplyDelete
  9. The description of this one kind of reminds me of Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready. In that one, the dead BF is a shade rather than someone brought back to life but it has a similar idea with the protagonist letting go of one boy and moving forward in life with another. I think I might try this one after reading your positive review.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...