Friday, April 3, 2015

The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne Blog Tour & Giveaway - Tennessee Stop


Hey Guys!!

Today I am thrilled to be participating in the blog tour for The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne! I read the book this past week and it's pretty awesome, so if you don't already have it on your to-read list, you're definitely going to want to add it now!

Keep reading for more information on the book, book recommendations from the author, and enter for a chance to win a signed copy of the book and some sweet swag!!

I'm super excited to be the TENNESSEE stop for the tour, representing my home state!!
Also check out the rest of the stops on the tour!!

3/17 - Candace's Book Blog – WA  4/3 - The Reader Bee – TN
3/19 - The Reading Nook Reviews – Sacramento, CA 4/6 – Into The Hall of Books - NC
3/23 - The Reading Date – LA, CA 4/8 - Ticket to Anywhere – MA 
3/25 - Mostly YA Book Obsessed – AZ 4/10 - Lost in Literature – CT 
3/27 - Gone With the Words – Houston, TX 4/13 - Effortlessly Reading – NYC 
3/30 – YA Bibliophile - WI 4/15 - No BS Book Reviews – Annapolis, MD
4/1 - Coming at YA – SC 4/17 - Book Revels – DC

______________________________________


About the Book:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17235448-the-wrong-side-of-right
The Wrong Side of Right
by Jenn Marie Throne
Website | Twitter | Facebook

Publication Date: March 17th 2015
Publisher: Dial Books
Pages: 390
ISBN: 9780803740570
Genre: Young Adult | Contemporary
Source: Publisher

Add to Goodreads

Available for Purchase:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

________________________


Fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick will enjoy this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash of Aaron Sorkin.

Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?

Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be. (Goodreads)



______________________________________

About the Author:

Jenn Marie Thorne writes YA fiction from her home in beautiful Gulfport, Florida, alongside her dashing husband, her two daring toddlers, and her trusty hound Molly. An NYU-Tisch grad with a BFA in Drama, Jenn still enjoys making a fool of herself on at least a weekly basis. Other hobbies include writing about herself in the third-person, studying classical voice, learning languages, and traveling the world with her family.

Her debut novel, THE WRONG SIDE OF RIGHT, is coming March 17, 2015 from Dial Books for Young Readers (Penguin).


______________________________________

Guest Post:

YA Recs for 6 Fabulous First Daughters

Life on the campaign trail can be grueling. Sometimes it’s nice to escape the glare of the public eye and lose yourself in someone else’s story. In THE WRONG SIDE OF RIGHT, Kate reads THE FOUNTAINHEAD between appearances—a loaner from the campaign’s speechwriter, a fervent Libertarian and fan of author Ayn Rand. Although she enjoys it, I think history-buff Kate might prefer a classic with a more progressive slant, like NORTH AND SOUTH by Elizabeth Gaskell. Here are more book recommendations for some real-life political daughters, both present-day and historical.



Malia Obama – ‘Just One Day,’ Gayle Forman By all accounts, this sixteen-year-old First Daughter is bright and well-mannered with a structured but down-to-earth life at the White House. The Obama girls have had the opportunity to travel the world, including a visit last year to China. But I wonder if Malia might enjoy this story of a type-A girl whose lack of a security detail gives her the chance to fall recklessly in love on the last day of her three-week European tour.



Meghan McCain – ‘Shine’, Lauren Myracle Okay, so Meghan McCain isn’t technically a First Daughter, but she’s still political royalty, a household name known best for her honesty—the way she both speaks up for the Republican values she holds dear and speaks out against the policies she disagrees with. An outspoken advocate for gay marriage, McCain would root loudly for SHINE’s protagonist Cat, who stands up to her conservative community after her best friend falls victim to a hate crime.



Chelsea Clinton – ‘The List’, Siobhan Vivian One of the youngest victims of the dawn of the tabloid age, Chelsea Clinton grew up having her physical appearance documented, picked apart, publicly derided and eventually applauded. A brainy teen (now a PhD), Chelsea might especially appreciate this examination of how society’s objectifying lens impacts girls today at every point on the “beauty” spectrum.



Margaret Truman – ‘Code Name Verity’, Elizabeth Wein Both a First Daughter and a 1940s career woman, Margaret Truman gained notoriety as a singer, a radio newsreader and a prolific biographer and mystery novelist. With its World War II setting and its mix of female empowerment and page-turning mystery, CODE NAME VERITY seems like the perfect book to pass Margaret’s way.



Alice Roosevelt – ‘The Luxe’, Anna Godberson “I’m a hedonist,” Alice Roosevelt famously described herself, and judging by her juicy biography, nobody would disagree. A turn of the century socialite who brought glamour and scandal to the White House, Alice would relate only too well to the ladies of THE LUXE, set amid the glittering and salacious party scene of Manhattan, 1899.



Helen Taft – ‘Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future’, A.S. King A devoted daughter and White House debutante, Helen Taft was one smart cookie. A noted professor of history, she first became Dean of Bryn Mawr College at the remarkable age of 26, and was also an active suffragette. A forward-thinker like Helen would no doubt love A.S. King’s latest, about a girl with the literal ability to look into the future and effect change for women’s rights.

______________________________________



Giveaway Info:
Five (5) winners will receive a signed copy of the book,
a campaign button, and a bookmark!! Enter today to WIN!!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...