Friday, June 15, 2018

My Thoughts: Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32319723-lost-and-found-sisters
Lost and Found Sisters
(Wildstone #1)
by Jill Shalvis
Website | Twitter | Instagram

Publication Date: June 20th 2017
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Pages: 371
ISBN: 9780062448118
Genre: Women's Fiction | Contemporary
Source: Own

Add to Goodreads

Available for Purchase:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes her first women's fiction novel—an unforgettable story of friendship, love, family, and sisterhood—perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, Susan Mallery, and Kristan Higgins.

They say life can change in an instant…

After losing her sister in a devastating car accident, chef Quinn Weller is finally getting her life back on track. She appears to have it all: a loving family, a dream job in one of L.A.'s hottest eateries, and a gorgeous boyfriend dying to slip an engagement ring on her finger. So why does she feel so empty, like she's looking for a missing piece she can't find?

The answer comes when a lawyer tracks down Quinn and reveals a bombshell secret and a mysterious inheritance that only she can claim. This shocking revelation washes over Quinn like a tidal wave. Her whole life has been a lie.

On impulse, Quinn gives up her job, home, and boyfriend. She heads up the coast to the small hometown of Wildstone, California, which is just a few hours north, but feels worlds apart from Los Angeles. Though she doesn't quite fit in right away, she can't help but be drawn to the town’s simple pleasures…and the handsome, dark-haired stranger who offers friendship with no questions asked.

As Quinn settles into Wildstone, she discovers there's another surprise in store for her. The inheritance isn't a house or money, but rather something earthshattering, something that will make her question everything she thought she knew about herself, about her family. Now with a world of possibilities opening up to Quinn, she must decide if this new life is the one she was always meant to have—and the one that could finally give her the fulfillment she's searched so long for. (Goodreads)


I have had a copy of Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis sitting on my shelf for too long, and with the second book in the series, Rainy Day Friends, set to release later this month, I figured it was the perfect time to finally read the book. I had originally picked up this book last year to read at the beach, but didn't get to it before we left, so I waited until this summer to finally devour the book. This is my first read by Jill Shalvis, but it definitely won't be my last!!

Lately I've been trying to step outside the box with the books I read so I could experience different types of new books, and this book was high on my list to read. I have heard a lot of good things about Jill Shalvis, and I was really looking forward to reading something by her. And since I've been trying to read more women's fiction, this book seemed like a good place to start.

There was really so much to like about this book, including the characters. There were so many of them to like, including the main character, Quinn. I found myself relating to Quinn in so many ways as the story went along, and I really love it when that happens.  There are also a lot of interesting secondary characters in the story, even a few that you won't want to like at first, and there are quite a few swoon-worthy characters as well. *cough, Mick, cough*.

I like that the story was told from a couple of different viewpoints, as that always makes me feel like we get so much more information in the story. The storyline for the book was really cute, and it made for a really relaxing read. A perfect book to read at the beach, which is where I wish I had gotten to read this! But, I'm just thrilled to have finally read it, so there's that. :)

Overall; Lost and Found Sisters was a cute, touching read, and, as I mentioned above, my very first read by Jill Shalvis. I love these types of books, the ones that make you feel good when you read them, and that definitely makes me want to pick up more books like this, especially those by Jill. I'm also now super excited to pick up Rainy Day Friends, which is set to release in just a few weeks, and I can't wait to check it out!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...