Wednesday, May 29, 2019

Waiting on Wednesday: Spin the Dawn & The Storm Crow

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36683928-spin-the-dawn
Spin the Dawn
(The Blood of Stars #1)
by Elizabeth Lim
Website | Twitter | Instagram

Publication Date: July 9th 2019
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780525646990

Add to Goodreads

Available for Pre-Order:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she'll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There's just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.

Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia's task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.

And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor's reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.

Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh. (Goodreads)

First, I love the cover for this book. She looks fierce!!
Second, does this book sounds AWESOME, or what??
I've heard SO many great things about it from people who have already read it,
and I am super excited to check it out!


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/38330596-the-storm-crow
The Storm Crow
(The Storm Crow #1)
by Kalyn Josephson
Website | Twitter | Instagram

Publication Date: July 9th 2019
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
ISBN: 9781492672937

Add to Goodreads

Available for Pre-Order:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

In the tropical kingdom of Rhodaire, magical, elemental Crows are part of every aspect of life...until the Illucian empire invades, destroying everything.

That terrible night has thrown Princess Anthia into a deep depression. Her sister Caliza is busy running the kingdom after their mother's death, but all Thia can do is think of all she has lost.

But when Caliza is forced to agree to a marriage between Thia and the crown prince of Illucia, Thia is finally spurred into action. And after stumbling upon a hidden Crow egg in the rubble of a rookery, she and her sister devise a dangerous plan to hatch the egg in secret and get back what was taken from them. (Goodreads)

Here is yet another book with a really awesome cover!
This book sounds really awesome as well,
and I'm very much excited to check it out also!


Those are my WOW picks for this week! What books are you excited for??

**"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine,
that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.**


3 comments:

  1. Nice picks! Seeing these two a lot lately! I feel like The Storm Crow has had a lot of buzz the past few months! I hope you enjoy them both!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm really excited for Spin the Dawn! Great picks!

    Here’s my WoW!

    Ronyell @ Rabbit Ears Book Blog

    ReplyDelete
  3. Both books are new to me and sound great! Thanks for putting them on my radar!

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...