Monday, January 4, 2016

Blog Tour: Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25893582-tell-me-three-things
Tell Me Three Things
by Julie Buxbaum
Website | Twitter

Publication Date: April 5th 2016
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Pages: 336
ISBN: 9780553535648
Genre: Young Adult | Contemporary
Source: For Review

Add to Goodreads

Available for Purchase:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

What if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met?

Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel whose characters will come to feel like friends. Tell Me Three Things will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved? (Goodreads)
When I first discovered Tell Me Three Things, I knew this was a book I would 'have' to read. I LOVE contemporary novels, they are my favorite genre, and I never pass up an opportunity to read a new one. I'm SO glad I read this book. I really enjoyed everything about it, from the characters to the storyline and more!

And keeping with the theme of the novel, let me 'tell YOU three things' I loved about this book!

1) The characters. There were SO many great characters in this novel. The main character, Jessie, despite having been through so much in her young life, proves to be a very strong young lady. I really related with her, and empathized with her for all she had been through. There were also a lot of secondary characters in the novel that I enjoyed; Jessie's best friend from Chicago, Scarlet, who she still talks to whenever she can, and also her new friends, Dri and Agnes, who proved to be really awesome as well. There are guys in the story too, one in particular who I feel in love with, but will not tell you who he is. Read the story so you can find out for yourself! And of course, there's 'SN', her secret virtual spirit guide.  Love!

2.) The Storyline. As I mentioned above, I adore contemporary novels. I seriously can't get enough of them. The storyline for this book was so sweet and very entertaining , and the mystery of who Jessie's secret 'SN' was kept me turning the pages. The story also had quite a few touching moments as well, and even a few moments that are completely heartbreaking. Seriously, this book will give you ALL the feels.

3) The ending. There's nothing I love more than reading a book with a really great ending. The end of this book left me with a huge smile on my face, and that giddy feeling in my stomach. I LOVE WHEN THAT HAPPENS; it really makes books so much more memorable for me. Great ending, I loved it.

Overall; Tell Me Three Things was a really great read, and the perfect book to start off a new year of reading!! I do hope that you will check it out! The book will be available for purchase on April 5th, so be sure to add it to your to-be-read list, and pre-order your copy today!


https://www.instagram.com/p/BAAowguDMfn


3 comments:

  1. What a great review!! I am so excited to get my hands on this one. I have loved Julie Buxbaum's previous books, and I think it's awesome she wrote a YA novel now. Glad to see how much you liked it!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Loved the way you styled your review! I like sweet and entertaining - so thanks for mentioning that! I'm officially putting this book on my to buy list. Thanks for the review!

    Precious @ Fragments of Life

    ReplyDelete
  3. I am glad to see that you enjoyed this one! It does sound pretty good. Great review!
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...