Friday, January 27, 2017

My Thoughts: By Your Side by Kasie West

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30256248-by-your-side
By Your Side
by Kasie West
Website | Twitter | Facebook

Publication Date: January 31st 2017
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 352
ISBN: 9780062455864
Genre: Young Adult | Contemporary
Source: Edelweiss

Add to Goodreads

Available for Purchase:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side? (Goodreads)

My Thoughts...

By Your Side by Kasie West was my very first read of 2017. I wanted to pick something that I knew I would love for my first read of the year, and as I adore Kasie's books and contemporaries are my favorite genre, I just know that this book would be the perfect pick. And it was!

The storyline for the book was really cute, just like the rest of West's novels. Imagine being accidentally locked in a library over a three day holiday weekend. Yeah, who of us wouldn't love that?? (Of course, I would also want unlimited amounts of food as well, but, yeah.) Three days uninterrupted in the library? Count me in! That is exactly what happens to our leading lady, Autumn. And when she realizes she's not completely alone in the library, things get even more interesting. This storyline, it was really great, and I flew through the pages in just a few hours time.

I was able to relate to Autumn in more ways than I expected, expect for the fact that she totally didn't take advantage of BEING LOCKED IN THE LIBRARY FOR THREE DAYS. Haha. I know, not everyone can be bookworms, but still. I definitely related to her through her anxiety issues, and I'm sure a lot of you will be able to relate to that as well, and I'm glad that I'm seeing this more and more in books. Dax, the guy that Autumn finds herself locked in the library with, was really interesting as well.

Overall; By Your Side is another great addition to the Kasie West collection! I really enjoyed the storyline and the characters, and I definitely plan to read this book again in the future. And, of course, having read this I am now EVEN MORE excited to get my hands on Kasie's next release, Lucky in Love, due to release in July! Check both of these books out today!


No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...