Tuesday, October 24, 2017

My Thoughts: Into the Bright Unknown by Rae Carson

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18054074-into-the-bright-unknown
Into the Bright Unknown
(The Gold Seer Trilogy #3)
by Rae Carson
Website | Twitter | Facebook

Publication Date: October 10th 2017
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Pages: 368
ISBN: 9780062242976
Genre: Young Adult | Fantasy | Historical
Source: Own

Add to Goodreads

Available for Purchase:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

The stunning conclusion to Rae Carson’s New York Times–bestselling Gold Seer trilogy, which Publishers Weekly in a starred review called “Simply terrific.” A historical fantasy brimming with magic, romance, and adventure—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Sarah Maas, and Westworld.

Leah Westfall, her fiancĂ© Jefferson, and her friends have become rich in the California Territory, thanks to Lee’s magical ability to sense precious gold. But their fortune has made them a target, and when a dangerous billionaire sets out to destroy them, Lee and her friends decide they’ve had enough—they will fight back with all their power and talents. Lee’s magic is continuing to strengthen and grow, but someone is on to her—someone who might have a bit of magic herself. The stakes are higher than ever as Lee and her friends hatch a daring scheme that could alter the California landscape forever. With a distinctive young heroine and a unique interpretation of American history, Into the Bright Unknown strikes a rich vein of romance, magic, and adventure, bringing the Gold Seer Trilogy to its epic conclusion. Includes a map and an author’s note. (Goodreads)

My Thoughts...

Into the Bright Unknown by Rae Carson was another of my most anticipated releases for 2017, and with good reason! I've been waiting for over a year to get my hands on this book, and now that I've read, and LOVED it, I feel complete closure now that the series has come to an end.

I had the pleasure of re-reading the first two books, Walk On Earth a Stranger and Like a River Glorious, over the past two months while waiting for this book to release, so the story was super fresh in my mind when I finally started Into the Bright Unknown. I don't get often have the chance to re-read a series before the next book is released, but I've been doing it more often lately, and I've really enjoyed diving back into my favorite series again! The Gold Seer trilogy is no exception. There's so much I love about this series, even though some things make me want to rage, but I can't say I've ever read anything like this series before, and it's definitely a favorite of mine.

There are so many characters to love in the book, including the main character, Leah (Lee) Westfall. She was such a strong character from the start, and I really enjoyed watching her character grow even more over the course of the story. I also loved all the people that traveled across the country with her as well, or, should I say, the ones that stuck with her through it all, at least. These people were so much more than friends; they are family. And they are the best kind of family; the ones you get to choose yourself. I love them all, and especially Jefferson!!

(I should also add that there are so, so, so many characters to hate in the story as well, but, the good always overcomes the bad.)

Overall; I have really enjoyed this series so much, and  I absolutely hate to see it come to an end. This third book in the series does give me a bit of closure though. I'll definitely be re-reading this series again in the future! If you've not yet picked up the Gold Seer trilogy by Rae Carson, I highly recommend that you do so! It's a unique and fast paced historical story that I just know you'll enjoy. Check it out soon!
https://www.instagram.com/p/BaOu4y9gntk/

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...