Monday, September 17, 2018

My Thoughts: The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36337550-the-7-deaths-of-evelyn-hardcastle
The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
by Stuart Turton
Website | Twitter

Publication Date: September 18th 2018
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark

Pages: 512
ISBN: 9781492657965
Genre: Adult Fiction | Mystery | Thriller
Source: Netgalley

Add to Goodreads

Available for Purchase:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

How do you stop a murder that’s already happened?

At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed—again. She's been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden's only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle's murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend—but nothing and no one is quite what they seem.

Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Agatha Christie.
(Goodreads)


I totally admit that the first thing that drew me to The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle was that bold, captivating book cover, as well as the intriguing book title. I was instantly curious! One of my goals for this year was to step out of the box and try reading new stuff, and I’m all about mystery novels at the moment, so this book sounded right up my alley. It was definitely worth the read!!

Imagine having seven days to solve a murder that has already happened, and each day you wake up in a new host’s body, where you have to figure out what exactly happened from each person’s perspective. It’s a vicious reoccurring cycle of events, and the only way you can finally get free is to solve the murder by the end of the last day, or the cycle starts over again. That, dear bookworms, is the mysterious, addictive story you get with The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle.

Let me start by saying that I don’t think I’ve ever read a book like this before. The story was completely engrossing, and kept me guessing as I flew through the pages. It actually took me a while to catch on to the fact that there were different hosts in the story, but once I figured it out, I found it to be completely fascinating! Seeing the same story happen from so many different viewpoints, and for each person to be so completely different from one another, well... it was interesting! Also, the setting for the book was perfection, and fit the storyline perfectly. The storyline was full of twists and turns that totally kept me guessing as I flew through the pages. I didn’t know what to expect by the end of the book, but everything came together rather nicely, which made for a really great read!!

Overall; The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle was just the thing I needed to read at the moment, and I’m so glad that I had the opportunity to read it! I will most definitely be keeping my eye out for more books by Stuart Turton in the future, as I would absolutely love to read more of his work as well. If you like a mysterious read that keeps you guessing, do check out The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle!!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...