Friday, October 16, 2020

My Thoughts: Well Played by Jen DeLuca

Well Played
(Well Met #2) by Jen DeLuca
Website | Twitter | Instagram

Publication Date: September 22nd 2020
Publisher: Berkley
Pages: 336
ISBN: 9781984805409
Genre: Adult Fiction , Romance, RomCom

Audiobook Pub: Penguin Random House Audio
Audio Length: 9hrs 59mins
Narrated By: Brittany Pressley
Audio ISBN: 9780593291313
Source: Own

Add to Goodreads

Available for Purchase:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository
Audible | Libro FM

Stacey is jolted when her friends Simon and Emily get engaged. She knew she was putting her life on hold when she stayed in Willow Creek to care for her sick mother, but it's been years now, and even though Stacey loves spending her summers pouring drinks and flirting with patrons at the local Renaissance Faire, she wants more out of life. Stacey vows to have her life figured out by the time her friends get hitched at Faire next summer. Maybe she'll even find The One.

When Stacey imagined "The One," it never occurred to her that her summertime Faire fling, Dex MacLean, might fit the bill. While Dex is easy on the eyes onstage with his band The Dueling Kilts, Stacey has never felt an emotional connection with him. So when she receives a tender email from the typically monosyllabic hunk, she's not sure what to make of it.

Faire returns to Willow Creek, and Stacey comes face-to-face with the man with whom she’s exchanged hundreds of online messages over the past nine months. To Stacey's shock, it isn't Dex—she's been falling in love with a man she barely knows.

Another laugh-out-loud romantic comedy featuring kilted musicians, Renaissance Faire tavern wenches, and an unlikely love story. (Goodreads)



Well Played by Jen DeLuca was high on my list of books to read this fall, especially after reading, (and loving), Well Met earlier this year. I am ALL about the happy books at the moment, and this book definitely left me with a smile on my face. I loved it so much!

In Well Met, we got to read Emily and Simon’s story, but in Well Played we get Stacey’s story! I love Stacey. She’s so upbeat and fun, definitely the kind of person I wish I could be. I love how much she loved the Faire, and her cat, and her family. And she’s such a good friend to Emily. Her love interest in the story, (who I am not going to mention by name), is perfect for her. They are so cute together! (Despite their relationship getting off to an interesting start.) I very much enjoyed watching their relationship grow. I also loved the secondary characters in the story! A lot of them we met in the first book, and some we get to meet for the first time. Fans of Emily and Simon will be thrilled to see what they’ve been up to since the end of the last book!

The storyline and setting for this book is much the same as the previous book. I LOVE the setting! I have never actually been to a Renaissance Faire before, but they sound so fascinating, and I would LOVE to go to one. (I definitely should find one!) I loved the descriptions of everything from the clothing to the acts and just everything. It’s so fun to read about!

For this book I read both the print copy and listened to the audiobook, often times doing both at the same time. The narrator for the book, Brittany Pressley, also narrated the first book as well, and I was very happy to have her tell me the story once again. She’s fantastic, so if you have the opportunity to listen to the audio for this series, do check it out!

Overall; If you can’t already tell, I really, really enjoyed this book! Now I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book, Well Matched, which is Mitch and April’s book, and is currently set to release in 2021!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...