Wednesday, October 2, 2019

Waiting on Wednesday: War Girls & Gravemaidens

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/40580686-war-girls
War Girls
by Tochi Onyebuchi
Website | Twitter | Instagram

Publication Date: October 15th 2019
Publisher: Razorbill
ISBN: 9780451481672

Add to Goodreads

Available for Pre-Order:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

Two sisters are torn apart by war and must fight their way back to each other in a futuristic, Black Panther–inspired Nigeria.

The year is 2172. Climate change and nuclear disasters have rendered much of earth unlivable. Only the lucky ones have escaped to space colonies in the sky.

In a war-torn Nigeria, battles are fought using flying, deadly mechs and soldiers are outfitted with bionic limbs and artificial organs meant to protect them from the harsh, radiation-heavy climate. Across the nation, as the years-long civil war wages on, survival becomes the only way of life.

Two sisters, Onyii and Ify, dream of more. Their lives have been marked by violence and political unrest. Still, they dream of peace, of hope, of a future together.

And they're willing to fight an entire war to get there.

Acclaimed author Tochi Onyebuchi has written an immersive, action-packed, deeply personal novel perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Marie Lu, and Paolo Bacigalupi. (Goodreads)

Does this book sound really interesting, or what??
I have already put a hold in at the library, and I'm super excited to check it out!




https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/44291755-gravemaidens
Gravemaidens
by Kelly Coon
Website | Twitter | Instagram

Publication Date: October 29th 2019
Publisher: Delacorte Press
ISBN: 9780525647829

Add to Goodreads

Available for Pre-Order:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

The start of a fierce fantasy duology about three maidens who are chosen for their land's greatest honor...and one girl determined to save her sister from the grave.

In the walled city-state of Alu, Kammani wants nothing more than to become the accomplished healer her father used to be before her family was cast out of their privileged life in shame.

When Alu's ruler falls deathly ill, Kammani’s beautiful little sister, Nanaea, is chosen as one of three sacred maidens to join him in the afterlife. It’s an honor. A tradition. And Nanaea believes it is her chance to live an even grander life than the one that was stolen from her.

But Kammani sees the selection for what it really is—a death sentence.

Desperate to save her sister, Kammani schemes her way into the palace to heal the ruler. There she discovers more danger lurking in the sand-stone corridors than she could have ever imagined and that her own life—and heart—are at stake. But Kammani will stop at nothing to dig up the palace’s buried secrets even if it means sacrificing everything…including herself. (Goodreads)

This is yet another book that sounds SO good!
I have this one on hold at the library as well, and I can't wait for them both to come in!

**"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine,
that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.**


1 comment:

  1. Oh I an eARC of Gravemaidens but I'm yet to start! It does sound SUPER interesting and the concept is so unique! I'm crazily waiting for Ninth House!

    Uma@Books.Bags.Burgers.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...