Monday, March 12, 2018

#NowWeRise Blog Tour: Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

Happy Monday, Bookworms!!

Today I'm participating in the #NoWeRise Blog Tour for
The Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi!!

Scroll down to see my thoughts for this awesome book, 
and check out the graphic at the bottom of the post to see what Maji clan you belong to!!
Children of Blood and Bone
(Legacy of Orïsha #1)
by Tomi Adeyemi
Website | Twitter | Facebook

Publication Date: March 6th, 2018
Publisher: Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
Pages: 525
ISBN: 9781250170972
Genre: Young Adult | Fantasy | Magic
Source: Review Copy / Own

Add to Goodreads

Available for Purchase:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy. (Goodreads)

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi is one of those books that you see EVERYWHERE, and you have to wonder what the hype is all about because everyone is talking about the book. That was me with this book. The first thing that drew me to the book was the gorgeous cover, and then I checked out the summary for the story and knew I wanted to read it. I wish I wouldn’t have waited so long to do so, this story was seriously great, and now I definitely know what all the hype is about!!

The Children of Blood and Bone is the first book in the Legacy of Orïsha series. I’m not sure at the moment how many books will be in this series, but I hope that it will be a lot, because I seriously want more of this story. The series is off to such a great start with this first book! I recently heard the author describe the book as Black Panther with a magical twist, and that is exactly what I thought of while reading the book. It only took me a few pages to become completely hooked, and once I started reading, I seriously couldn’t stop. Not only is the story great, but the book also has some pretty amazing characters as well, all of which are SO well written. All of these things together make for such a great read.

I had an advanced copy of this book, which is what I originally started reading, and then I discovered the audiobook version of the book. If you follow my blog or social media any at all, you’ll know that I’m completely in love with audiobooks at the moment, so I was completely torn on which format I wanted to read the book in. I had started out reading the review copy of the book, but the sample of the audiobook that I listened to was SO GOOD, that I really wanted to listen as well. So, I ended up doing both!! I followed along in the book while Bahni Turpin narrated the audiobook to me, and it was such an awesome experience. (And I totally need to start doing this for books/audiobooks more often!) If you have the opportunity to check out the book in audio format, I highly recommend it. But, the book version is amazing too. Whichever way you decide to read the book is fine, as long as you just read it!

Overall; I really enjoyed The Children of Blood and Bone so much, it’s definitely one of my favorites of the year so far! I absolutely cannot wait to get my hands on the next book in the series, which I don’t currently see a release date or book name for, but which I will definitely be keeping my eye out for more information for. I can’t wait to find out what’s going to happen next! Definitely add this book to your TBR, and read it as soon as possible! And feel free to tell me what you thought of the book here, or on social media as well! I really hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.

Happy Reading!!

Tomi Adeyemi is a Nigerian-American writer and creative writing coach based in San Diego, California. After graduating Harvard University with an honors degree in English literature, she received a fellowship that allowed her to study West African mythology and culture in Salvador, Brazil. When she’s not working on her novels or watching Scandal, she can be found blogging and teaching creative writing to her 4,500 subscribers at Her website has been named one of the 101 best websites for writers by Writer’s Digest.
Her debut West African YA Fantasy novel is CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE (Holt Books for Young Readers/Macmillan). The CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE movie is in development at Fox 2000/Temple Hill Productions with Karen Rosenfelt and Wyck Godfrey (Twilight, Maze Runner, The Fault In Our Stars) producing it.
If you want to know everything important about her and her stories, you can read this blog post: Why I Write, Telling A Story That Matters.
If you're an aspiring author, check out her writing tips and free writing resource library here. (

Now it's time to discover what Maji Clan you belong to!

Going by the chart above, I would be part of the Healer Clan!!
*Healers can heal a wide variety of ailments and injuries*

Does that sound awesome, or what?? I'd love to be a healer!!

Did you check the chart to see what clan you would be in??
If so, feel free to share your answer in the comments below!
I'd love to see what clan you are in.

And, again, if you've not yet read this book, you should totally do so!!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...